Affiliated Faculty


Renisa Mawani

Renisa Mawani works in the fields of critical theory and colonial legal history and has published widely on law, colonialism, and legal geography.

renisa@mail.ubc.ca


Richard Johnston

Richard Johnston is starting work on a comparative study of campaigns and elections with European and North American cases. He is also continuing his collaborative work on immigration, diversity, multiculturalism, and the welfare state. Read more about Richard Johnston here.

richard.johnston@ubc.ca


Ross King

Ross King’s research interests include history of language, writing and literary culture in the Sinographic cultural sphere, Korean historical linguistics, and Korean dialectology.

ross.king@ubc.ca


Sabina Magliocco

A recipient of Guggenheim, National Endowment for the Humanities, SSHRC, Fulbright and Hewlett fellowships, and an honorary Fellow of the American Folklore Society, she has published on religion, folklore, foodways, festival and witchcraft in Europe and North America, and is a leading authority on the modern Pagan movement.

sabina.magliocco@ubc.ca


Sara Ann Knutson

Dr. Sara Ann Knutson (she/ her) is Assistant Professor of Teaching, chair of Medieval Studies, and a historian and anthropological archaeologist specializing in premodern Afro-Eurasia, including the Islamic World and Scandinavia, and contemporary cultural heritage. Her research and teaching examine topics including global history, race and ethnicity, diasporas, the Digital Humanities, materiality, museum anthropology and […]


Saygin Salgirli

Salgirli’s research includes early Ottoman and Islamic art and architecture, medieval Mediterranean art and architecture, architectural history.

saygin.salgirli@ubc.ca


Sima Godfrey

Sima Godfrey is a specialist in 19th-century French literature and cultural history. Her current research interests include discourse of fashionability in modern French culture (19th-20th century) as well as 19th century French cultural memory.  Read more about Sima Godfrey here.

sima.godfrey@ubc.ca


Stephen Guy-Bray

Stephen Guy-Bray specializes in Renaissance poetry, queer theory, and queer poetics. His most recent monograph is Shakespeare and Queer Representation (2020).

Stephen.Guy-Bray@ubc.ca


T’ai Smith

T’ai Smith is an historian of modern and contemporary art, design, and visual culture in Europe and North America. Her research focuses on textiles and fashion as economic and medial forms.

tai.smith@ubc.ca


Thomas Kemple

Thomas Kemple's research advances European and North American traditions of classical and contemporary social theory from the late 18th century to the present.

kemple@mail.ubc.ca